Decom North Sea

Website Banner May17

DNS News, Member News and Top Headlines


2018 Decom North Sea Award Winners and DLG Candidates Revealed

Winners of the 2018 Decom North Sea Awards were announced last night (22 May) in a celebration of sector collaboration, innovation and dedication. 

Decom North Sea revealed the 3 winners to an audience of more than 180 people, with categories covering innovation, collaboration and individual achievement across the decommissioning sector.

Sponsored by The Oil and Gas Technology Centre (OGTC), the Outstanding Innovation category was won by BiSN for its Wel-Lok M2M well sealant technology.

The Excellence in Collaboration award, sponsored by Port of Cromarty Firth, was presented to Shell U.K. Ltd.  –  Boskalis –  Veolia-Peterson, for demonstrating how collaborative working and sharing best practice can maximise recycling of assets and drive sustainability in the industry.

Mark Bayman, who has recently retired from the position of Decommissioning Manager (Technical) at OPRED, was presented with the Contribution to the Decommissioning Sector accolade. 

Decom North Sea's interim Chief Executive Tom Leeson said: "As Mark steps down from his role at OPRED (previously BEIS), it is wholly appropriate to recognise his significant contribution to both the decommissioning sector, the wider industry and Decom North Sea. 

"Constantly acting as a pragmatic and approachable conduit between industry and the regulator, he has been inspirational in his role as technical adviser within OPRED, bringing many practical approaches to the attention of his colleagues with the aim of cost-effective, achievable decommissioning." 

Summing up the event, Nigel Lees, Decom North Sea Chairman commented: “Last night’s award ceremony showcased the impressive work undertaken by some extremely talented and dedicated people and highlighted the importance of celebrating achievement in the decommissioning sector.

“Our judging panel had a considerable challenge when it came to selecting our winners, and I would like to extend my congratulations to all shortlisted companies.” 

The evening also saw the announcement of Decom North Sea's new Decommissioning Leadership Group, whose members will drive strategic direction and the delivery of the organisation's objectives, relating across the scope of decommissioning activity. 

  • Engineering Consultancies

    • John Cox, Intecsea
    • Steph Kiltie, PDi Limited
    • Mark Lauder, JEE
    • Dawn Robertson, Bureau Veritas
    • John Spiteri, Atkins
  • Facilities                                     

    • Eddie Grant, Mactech (Europe) Limited
    • Lawrie Kerr, Dräger Marine and Offshore
    • Jinda Nelson, Bilfinger Salamis UK Limited
    • Peter Sheves, Cape plc
    • Steven Simpson, Brimmond Group
  • Integrating Contractors

    • Stuart Heggie, Babcock International Group
    • David Hutchinson, Petrofac Engineering & Production Services
    • Sam Long, Aker Solutions Limited
    • Stuart Martin, Ardent
    • Willem van Es, Wood.
  • Onshore Dismantling & Waste Management

    • Julian Foley, Asco
    • Andrea Guismitta, Peterson
    • Lee Hanlon, CessCon
    • Craig Nicol, Veolia
    • Captain Calum Slater, Cromarty Firth Port Authority
  • Operators                                     

    • Stephen Brown, CNR International (UK) Ltd
    • Alistair Gilmour, Chevron North Sea Limited
    • Innes Jordan, Nexen Petroleum UK Limited
    • Girish Kabra, Spirit Energy
    • Claire Mueller, Shell
  • Professional Services

    • Jim Christie, Decide Wisely Ltd
    • Alan Dick, Simmons & Co Intl
    • Callum Falconer, CRF Consultants 
    • William Hazell, ERM 
    • Sam Mathew, Accenture
  • Subsea & Marine

    • Matt Blair, Systems Engineering and Assessment Ltd
    • Dave Hamill, N- Sea 
    • Tim Martin, Costain 
    • Vikki Thom, Bibby Offshore 
    • Boudewijn Versluijs, Boskalis
  • Wells                                     

    • Catherine Campbell, Ardyne
    • William Inglis, Expro 
    • Donald Mackay, Schlumberger 
    • Steve Nairn, Helix Well Ops UK Limited 
    • Stuart Wordsworth, CMC Limited
Decom North Sea logo
We're very sorry…

The browser you are using predates the modern web technology used to build it, making it impossible for you to use this site in the way it was intended to be used. Please update your browser to one of the following, and try visiting again: Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Opera.